The 6 Pillars of Faith

بِسْمِ اللَّـهِ الرَّحْمَـٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ

There are 6 pillars of faith that a Muslim must believe. Any Muslim who doesn’t believe in any of these pillars is not a believer. It’s very important that our children know these and are taught them with clarity. The pillars of Faith are mentioned in the very well known hadith when Angel Jibrel questioned the Prophet PBUH (Peace and Blessings be Upon Him) in front of his companions as to what Eemaan (faith) is. The Prophet PBUH said:

“Eemaan is that you believe in Allah, His angels, His books, His messengers, the Last Day, and Qadar – whether good or bad.”

Eemaan is that you believe in:

  1. Belief in Allah
  2. Belief in Allah’s angels
  3. Belief in Allah’s books
  4. Belief in Allah’s messengers
  5. Belief in the Last Day
  6. Belief in the Qadr (divine destiny)

Most of these pillars are mentioned in the following ayah of the Quran.

آمَنَ الرَّسُولُ بِمَا أُنزِلَ إِلَيْهِ مِن رَّبِّهِ وَالْمُؤْمِنُونَ ۚ كُلٌّ آمَنَ بِاللَّـهِ وَمَلَائِكَتِهِ وَكُتُبِهِ وَرُسُلِهِ
“The Messenger (Muhammad) believes in what was sent down to him from his Lord (Allah). The believers do too. They all believe in Allah, His angels, His books, and His messengers.” (Baqarah 2:285)

We’ll talk about each pillar of faith in more depth in the following weeks and months insha Allah.

Reference:  “Eemaan Made Easy part 1: Knowing Allah” by Muhammad al-Jibaly


Leave a Reply